Evaluation Policy Task Force: Call for Potential Members

Deadline: June 30, 2025

The Evaluation Policy Task Force (EPTF), established in 2009, has been the driving force behind AEA's influence on evaluation-related policy at the federal level. The EPTF is now putting out a call for you to submit your name or the names of others you believe would be interested in becoming a new member of the Task Force. At this time, the EPTF is not seeking to immediately select new members, but is seeking letters of interest from individuals who may be considered as potential members for upcoming openings and opportunities to work with the Task Force.

The EPTF has influenced the understanding and use of evaluation within the federal government in the years since it was founded. In recent years, EPTF has consistently called for attention to and resources for building evaluation capacity within federal agencies. The group has also contributed to a <u>survey</u> of federal evaluation officials that identified challenges, resources, and opportunities for strengthening evaluation on the federal level. Of note, EPTF created AEA's <u>Evaluation Roadmap</u> and informed the findings of the U.S. Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking.

During this period of change in the evaluation field, the EPTF is seeking to expand the scope of its activities to monitor and influence evaluation-related policy in state, local, and tribal governments. Accordingly, the Task Force seeks to be representative of evaluators in these sectors. The EPTF is currently led by interim chair Christina Yancey, Vice President at AIR and former chief evaluation officer at the U.S. Department of Labor. Other EPTF members continuing in 2025 include: Lisa Aponte-Soto, Nicole Bowman, Leslie Fierro, Meg Hargreaves, Melvin Mark, Kathryn Newcomer, Demetra Nightingale, Esther Nolton, and Gregory Phillips II.

The Task Force meets monthly for approximately one hour. Members may anticipate spending at least an additional hour per month to assist on Task Force statements published on the behalf of AEA or other materials. Per the AEA appointment policy, the AEA Board Executive Committee, the chair of the EPTF, and the AEA Executive Director will review applications for membership and appoint new members of the EPTF, as necessary. As applicants are considered, these criteria will be used to guide the selection process and prioritize eligible candidates:

- Commitment to supporting the mission and goals of AEA.
- Knowledge of and a history of prior involvement with the AEA.
- Background in or related to evaluation policy, and a commitment to improving federal evaluation policy.
- Familiarity with the field of evaluation and capacity to understand and represent the field to others.
- A broad perspective on evaluation and willingness to advocate for the many and diverse views of evaluation.
- Knowledge of the federal, state, local, and tribal policymaking process and experience with policy development initiatives, particularly interaction with the federal government.
- Representation of all levels of government affected by evaluation policies, including federal, state, local, and tribal evaluation experts.

- Experience with public presentations of evaluation to a variety of audiences.
- Diversity of the Task Force and representativeness of the breadth of members and interests of AEA.
- Ability to work in a collaborative, fast-paced environment.

If you believe that you or individuals you know would fit the above criteria to be members of the EPTF, please submit appropriate contact information, a resume, and a letter one-page or less expressing your interest to <u>evaluationpolicy@eval.org</u>. Someone from the Task Force will be in contact with you about next steps.